WATCH: Trump Honors Law Enforcement, Firefighters

(Image Source: DoD / CC BY 2.0 / MGN)

President Trump awards the Medal of Valor to 12 Americans, which is the highest possible decoration for bravery by public safety officers.

The recipients include:

  • Deputy Shaun Wallen, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department (California) — 11 years of service
  • Corporal Rafael Ixco, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department (California) — 20 years of service
  • Detective Bruce Southworth, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department (California) — seven years of service
  • District Attorney Investigator Chad Johnson, San Bernardino County District Attorney’s Office (California) — 17 years of service
  • Officer Nicholas Koahou, Redlands Police Department (California) — 10 years of service
  • Detective Brian Olvera, San Bernardino Police Department (California) — 13 years of service
  • Chief Douglas Schroeder, Hesston Police Department (Kansas) — 21 years of service
  • Emergency Medical Technician Sean Ochsenbein, Putnam County Rescue Squad (Tennessee) — 10 years of service
  • Lieutenant William Buchanan, Avery County Sheriff’s Office (North Carolina) — 21 years of service
  • Firefighter/Harbor Patrol Officer David Poirier Jr., Redondo Beach Fire Department (California) – 25 years of service
  • Officer Andrew Hopfensperger Jr., Antigo Police Department (Wisconsin) — nine years of service
  • Engineer Stephen Gunn, Peoria Fire-Medical Department (Arizona) — 12 years of service